top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicki Carnley

A Clean Freak's Guide to a Weekly Cleaning Routine

Updated: Aug 28, 2019

I grew up with a clean freak mom who did an excellent job of making cleaning fun and not feel like a chore. She never forced me to clean, but she kept our house spotless and organized, so I grew up with an appreciation for an immaculate living space. Once I moved out on my own, I made my weekly cleaning day Monday so every week starts off fresh. I always look forward to Mondays because I genuinely enjoy cleaning. I know many people will disagree with me, but I find it therapeutic.

Several years ago, I wrote on my previous blog about my cleaning routine when I lived in an apartment. Some things have changed since then, so I wanted to share an updated cleaning routine, including tips for efficient strategies and making cleaning more enjoyable. Use these steps and customize them for your own schedule!

Step 1: Start the Laundry


Laundry is something easy you can start with because it doesn't take long to gather your first load and throw it in the washer. You can work on other things while the laundry is going and switch loads in between other tasks. I start with a dark load, throwing in clothes, towels, blankets, etc. and then a white load because that way I can throw my white cleaning rags in once I finish using them.


Bonus Tip: Listen to music or podcasts while you're cleaning. This will make it more enjoyable and the time will fly!


Step 2: Prepare for Cleaning


Now you can start prepping for cleaning by moving rugs, trash cans, and anything else off the hard floors so you can vacuum and mop.


Step 3: Scrub the Bathrooms


I used to clean the bathrooms with a bleach based spray and an old rag, but now I use Norwex cloths. This is so much easier because it's faster and you don't have to use chemicals. I scrub the showers and sinks with the Envirocloth. I use that same cloth to wipe down glass and mirrors, then the Window Cloth to polish them dry. That Window Cloth works better than sprays because it doesn't leave any residue behind. Next, I wipe down the toilets with an old rag and Attitude Bathroom Cleaner. I use Lysol toilet cleaner for inside the toilets and scrub them with a toilet brush. I used to use the wands with disposable pads, but I realized a few years ago those don't work as well as a regular toilet brush, so I switched. I do still use bleach in my shower once a month, just to get it super disinfected. I like to get the bathrooms done first because they seem to take the longest.


Bonus Tip: I usually switch the dark load to the dryer and start the white load at this point because that way I can throw the white rag I just cleaned the toilets with into the load. Washing your sheets weekly is important because they accumulate sweat and dirt easily, so I throw them into this load as well.



Step 4: Dust


The Norwex Dusting Mit is great at collecting dust and is so much easier than using a spray. I don't have a lot to dust because I try to keep my space minimal, but I make sure to wipe down window sills, the TV, dressers, night stands, and any other surfaces where dust might accumulate. Make sure to also dust the items on these surfaces as well as under them.


Step 5: Clean/ Organize the Kitchen


It's around this time I tend to take a lunch break, so I eat lunch and clean up after myself by wiping down the counters and dining table. I wipe down my dining chairs and move them onto the carpet so I can vacuum and mop under the table. I'll also organize my pantry and fridge so I can throw out any old food from the previous week.

Step 6: Vacuum and Mop


Since I've just wiped down the bathrooms, kitchen counters, and dusted, the house is ready to be vacuumed and mopped. Before vacuuming I empty the lint from the previous week so if I make a mess with that, I can just vacuum it up again. I vacuum the hard floors first so I can mop them before I vacuum the carpet. That way, while I'm waiting for the hard floors to dry, I can continue being productive by vacuuming the carpet. I still use the Libman mop with hot water and white vinegar because it dries fast and is a great disinfectant.


Bonus Tip: Investing in a high quality vacuum cleaner is a must! My first vacuum was cheap and I learned the hard way they don't work as well or last as long. Buying a better vacuum that will last is definitely worth the money! I've had a Shark for years and it still works great.


Step 7: Put Everything Away


At this point I've usually switched the laundry and I'm ready to fold and put everything away and make the bed with fresh sheets. I also put the chairs, rugs, and everything else back on the hard floors after the mopping has dried and put fresh towels out in the bathrooms and kitchen.


Step 8: Take Out the Trash


After you've cleaned out old food from the fridge, removed the lint from your dryer, and emptied all the trash cans, it's time to take out the trash and put in a fresh liner!


Once you've completed all these tasks, take a second to appreciate all your hard work. I don't take pride in many things, but maintaining a clean, organized home is one thing I am proud of. If you don't have time to do all this in one day, you can break up the tasks on different days to fit your schedule. I hope this inspires you to start cleaning so you can enjoy all the awesome benefits of a clean home!

67 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page